Skip to Content




JUNE, 2017

With concerns about climate change dominating the news (C&EN, June 5, page 14), it’s fitting that the American Chemical Society awarded one of its most recent National Historic Chemical Landmark designation to the 1974 discovery by F. Sherwood Rowland and Mario J. Molina of the University of California, Irvine, that chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) can lead to ozone depletion. Atmospheric ozone helps absorb potentially damaging ultraviolet radiation. Without it, human life cannot survive.

Research on chlorofluorocarbons designated a chemical landmark. Rowland and Molina’s groundbreaking discovery changed the way humans saw their impact on Earth

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Mario Molina talks about Climate Change to Chinese News Agency, Xinhua.

April 22, 2017

The Science March, which coincided with Earth Day, was carried out in over 500 cities worldwide. Its main purpose (especially in the United States) was to defend the quintessential roll scientific research and knowledge have over public policy and decision making.

Science March

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Science in its many disciplines is universal and diverse. It spans across all languages, continents, and cultures; notable contributors in its fields come from all corners of the globe. Although the U.S. is viewed worldwide as the global scientific research powerhouse thanks to generous funding of programs, education, and experimentation, the Latin American world has also been making incredible scientific strides for centuries. Latino culture has raised Nobel Prize winners, geniuses in environmental science, and quantum field theory game changers. Here are some brilliant Latin Science minds who have changed the way we understand the world:

Dr. Bernardo Houssay, Dr. Cesare Mansueto Giulio, Dr. Mario Molina, Dr. Adriana Ocampo, and Dr. José Sarukhán.

5 Scientists in Latino History Who Changed the World

February 21, 2017

The Tyler Prize Executive Committee will award the 2017 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement to pioneering Mexican ecologist Professor José Sarukhán, for his scientific contributions to the field of biological diversity and institutionbuilding.

Prof. Mario Molina and everyone at the Mario Molina Center congratulate our Advisor, José Sarukhán.

He will receive the Prize on May 4th at a ceremony in Washington D.C.

Our Advisor José Sarukhán will receive the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement

This past 8th of Febuary 2017, Dr. Molina held a conference at Harvard University discussing air quality in megacities such as Mexico City and Beijing. You may have access to the video of the conference by clicking on the following picture:



Nobel Prize winner Professor Mario Molina to discuss his ground-breaking research – King’s College London

Nobel Prize-winning chemical engineer Professor Mario Molina is to visit King’s College London on 22 June. Professor Molina, who won the Nobel Prize for chemistry in 1995, will discuss his work on ‘Climate Change: Science, Policy & Risks’ at a special event as he receives an honorary degree from the university.

Study reveals increased risk of ozone loss over the central United States during summer months – NMLS

A new study out of Harvard University reveals that the protective stratospheric ozone layer above the central United States is vulnerable to erosion during the summer months from ozone-depleting chemical reactions, exposing people, livestock and crops to the harmful effects of UV radiation.

Paris Climate Agreement Skeptics Sing A Familiar Song – Forbes

Many in the chemical industry were initially opposed and even attempted to discredit the Nobel Prize winning science of Paul Crutzen, Mario Molina, and Sherwood Rowland. Their work was fundamental in identifying why Ozone was being decomposed. Weather Underground’s Dr. Jeff Masters previously wrote an excellent summary of the skeptic tactics during this period.


Prolongacion Paseo de los Laureles No. 458, Despacho 406
Col. Bosques de las Lomas, Cuajimalpa, C.P. 05120, Mexico, D.F.
Telephone: +00 (52-55) 9177 1670